In this era where we have apps for everything, Snapchat is one of a kind. However, Snapchat has become one of the most popular apps used by the millennial generation. It was created by a bunch of Stanford students, and one of the biggest reasons for its popularity is that it resonates with the mindset of this generation.
As nothing is permanent on Snapchat, and people can view your story just for 24 hours, and after that, it will disappear automatically. Moreover, the major users of this app are aged 18 to 24, which explains how it captures the younger generation.
At this moment, apps like Facebook have started to look like a family gathering. As more and more parents have started joining these platforms. Hence, teenagers were looking for something new and fresh.
Snapchat is far more interesting and interactive for teenagers. With its cool features and filters, it instantly grabs the attention of the younger generation. As much as people love to interact and communicate on this platform.
Furthermore, just like in the real world, there are many people that you would like to avoid on this platform as well. While in the real world, you might not be able to block them out of your life.
However, on Snapchat, you can block anyone that you wish to avoid and don’t want to see what’s happening in your life. Thus, today we are going to tell you how to block someone on Snapchat and its alternative as well.
Table of Contents
Steps to Block someone on Snapchat
Snapchat is a simple application with attractive features. Moreover, if you want to block someone, It will only take less than a minute to block someone on Snapchat. So, here’s how to do it:
Open Snapchat and log in if you haven’t already.
Manage the conversation. If you have ever interacted with the person you wish to block, tap the speech bubble beside the capture tap on the bottom left side.
However, If you haven’t spoken with that individual yet, go to the magnifying glass icon (search) in the upper left corner of your screen. Search for their name or username in this search box.
Select the “Block” button in red.
After tapping Block, a confirmation window with the title ‘Block‘ will appear. Tap it to confirm that you wish to block that individual.
The user will be blocked as a result of this. Even if your privacy settings enable anybody to access your story or send you messages, they will be unable to do so.
What happens when you block someone on Snapchat?
Blocking individuals on Snapchat stops them from contacting you through their Snapchat accounts. However, they might know your Snapchat username, but they will be unable to contact you over Snapchat.
The block user will not be able to start any conversation with you.
They are unable to access your previous stories or chat.
If they choose to search your account, they will be unable to locate it.
They will be unable to share photos or videos with you over Snapchat.
Will the other person get notified when you block them?
Snapchat will not send any notification to the blocked person. Hence, when you block someone on Snapchat, they may not realize it right away since Snapchat does not provide a signal that they have been blocked.
However, eventually, they might find it on their own as they will not be able to see any of your activity and changes. Moreover, changes include your account being deleted, not being able to access your stories and activities, and even being unable to text you.
Alternative options to hide your stories on Snapchat
When you want to completely avoid touch with someone, blocking someone is the best option. However, this extreme alternative isn’t always the best one
Moreover, blocking someone can seem a little harsh sometimes. As a result, if you don’t want to completely cut off contact with someone but still want to keep your life private. you can pick one of the following options:
If you don’t want to lose contact with someone on Snapchat but don’t want them to view private stories, remove them from your friend list. It will allow only the selected friends to view your stories.
However, they can still access your public stories and send you snaps and conversations (depending on your settings).
Moreover, to do this, follow the same steps as for blocking someone, but instead of selecting Block on the Menu, select Remove Friend.
Do Not Disturb Feature
This function is just like turning off app notifications, which limits alerts from friends or group conversations.
You’ve undoubtedly seen this function on the Menu we mentioned in options 1 and 2.
This option is less limiting and perfect when you still want to be friends with someone but don’t want chat alerts to pop up and disturb your day.
However, by enabling this option, they may still send you conversations and snaps, but you will not get alerts.
Customize your Chat and stories to Only Friends
It’s a simple alternative to deleting someone from your Snapchat friend list. However, People who aren’t your Snapchat friends might be able to send you snaps and chat messages in an attempt to talk with you.
Furthermore, people can view your stories, which isn’t always a good thing. However, you can stop this by going to your privacy settings and changing your privacy settings.
In order to do so, Select just your friends to send you conversations or snaps, and you may also limit who can access your stories to your friends.
In the upper-left corner of your screen, tap the profile symbol.
To access the settings, tap the setting/gear icon.
Scroll down to the Who Can section after that.
Click ‘Contact Me,‘ then ‘My Friends,‘ to allow just your friend to contact you.
Blocking someone on Snapchat is a personal security feature that you can use to limit your interaction with someone. However, It is a crucial privacy and security safeguard for everyone.
As there are several cases of Cyberbullying that are reported every day. Thus, to safeguard your own sanity and mental health, this is an essential feature.
Especially for parents who want to make sure that their kids are safe and using the power of the internet efficiently. As we all are aware of how social media can impact or destruct someone’s life.