Snapchat grabs users’ attention because of its unique features. Moreover, Snapchat’s popularity is due to the platform’s commitment to user privacy. However, Videos and photographs posted to the network usually vanish within 24 hours.
With the constant new features and updates, Snapchat’s algorithm keeps on changing. While the messaging function has improved the app’s usability, the inability to unsend photographs and videos sent as a snap is a major disadvantage.
However, the good news is that there are other options and features that can be used to block other users from viewing your snap.
However, in this article, we are going to see other alternatives for removing a snap and how can you unsend a snap. So let us get started
Tricks that you can use to unsent or delete a snap
There is no way to erase or unsent a photo or video snaps sent to friends on Snapchat after they have been received. The only option is to delete the message, but there is no assurance that the receiver will not see it.
However, many users have identified some hacks that worked for unsending photo or video snaps in prior versions of the Snapchat app. They realized that they could effectively unsend photos on sometimes by:
- Turning on airplane mode
- Removing the recipient of the snap from the sender’s friend list
- Block them on Snapchat, if you have sent a snap mistakenly
- Singing out from the sender’s account
- Deactivating or deleting your (the sender’s) account.
- Uninstalling the application from the sender’s device.
- Remove the recipient from your list of Snapchat friends.
- Please log out of your account.
These techniques may have worked in the past, but they no longer function with more recent versions of the program. Thus, when you send a snap, it is automatically posted to Snapchat’s cloud-based system.
When a receiver opens a snap sent by a friend or group of friends, the snap can be instantly removed from Snapchat’s servers. However, any action you try to perform after sending a snap will fail if the snap has already reached the cloud.
You can Delete a Chat instead of Unsending
Although you cannot undo or unsend a sending of photos or videos, you may undo the sending of other sorts of material. However, “unsend” isn’t nearly the appropriate term to describe it. “Delete” is a better word.
Users can remove chat messages they’ve sent to individuals or groups of friends using Snapchat’s Clear Chats function. When you tap the name of a friend or group in your Conversations tab, you’ll see a string of texts and conversations.
However, you can remove the following from your chats:
Text messages, stickers (including Bitmoji stickers), audio messages, and photos and videos sent through the Memories page are all supported (such as those that were saved or uploaded from your device).
It is quite simple to delete a snap before it has been read by the receiver. It may be done in group talks as well as one-on-one interactions. This is possible with both Android and iOS smartphones.
Can you reverse a snap after sending it?
Users have the option to remove any sort of content from the platform. While you cannot “unsend” a pic or videos sent as a snap. However, you can delete them.
Moreover, It’s easier to delete them, especially if you mistakenly send something to the other person. Snapchat will alert and send you a notification and the message’s receiver that you deleted a sent file after deleting a snap. They will have no idea what was in the message because it was deleted from the conversation.
It is simple to revert the action of forwarding videos and photographs to your Snapchat friends. Snapchat users may also delete photographs and videos from their Snapchat Stories.
However, you can erase photographs and videos that you shared with friends using the Memory tab. This is due to the fact that these shared files were saved or uploaded from your device.
Moreover, if the other person has taken a screenshot of your snap, you will be notified. Hence, there is no need to freak out.
The Bottom Line
Snapchat is a social media game changer and revolutionary since snaps disappear rapidly, boosting privacy protection.
However, many users are disappointed that the app has yet to create a function that allows them to unsend content. I hope now you know how can you unsend a snap.
Until the platform provides a solution, you can erase snaps from your Snapchat chats using the techniques provided in this article, and you will be good to go!
Leave a Reply